How It All Began

Here’s how we started our garden.

  1. Research. Find out when your last and first frost/freeze dates are. I used www.hgic.umd.edu/content/SpringFrostDatesInMD.cfm. If you don’t live in Maryland you can use www.almanac.com. You will also want to look into the crops you would like to plant. Know their optimal growing conditions and their maturation times.
  2. Plan. Pick a spot that will provide the type of sunlight/shade that is needed. Make sure that you have enough space for the crops you intend to plant. Be sure to look into companion planting.
  3. Soil Preparation. Mix in compost, fertilizer or soil amendments. Remember to till your plot deeply, especially when preparing for root veggies.
  4. Plant It. Plant your crops (transplants or direct from seed). Be sure to give your crops plenty of room to grow. It is tempting to skimp on the spacing in order to maximize the yield of your plot, but this will result in difficulty weeding, compacting of roots and unintentional shading, to name a few. We didn’t give some of our crops enough room, so we have problems with weeding, finding footing, and even harvesting.
  5. Don’t forget to water and weed.

3 thoughts on “How It All Began

  1. I don’t have any outdoor space but I’ve got a blank wall in my sunroom. I have been thinking about trying to do a living wall by vertically growing some herbs and plants. I currently have one hanging rododendrum (I think that is what it is) that seems to be doing well. Do you have any advice you can offer on indoor growing?

    1. Indoor growing…. I like herbs for inside. I’m really not a outdoorsy person, allergies out the wazoo, but this garden thing is actually fun. I arm myself with some bug spray and gloves and go a-pickin. The hanging wall sounds great. I’m not sure about flowers for real, they have pollen, but I have seen this thing at home depot that is supposed to be ideal for indoor/little space gardeners. I can’t remember what it’s called but I’m looking on home depot now and having a rough time, so I will have to get back to you. As long as you can get enough sunlight indoors, you should be okay.

    2. I found it! It’s called CITY PICKERS ($30). Check it out. I’m pretty sure you could do flowers in it too. There are also an array of pots and stands and hooks and the like that would be conducive to indoor growing.

Leave a comment