The Growing Girl

Amateur gardening experiences of a growing girl.

Dear Deer…

Leave a comment

Stay out of my yard! You are not welcome here and our tomatoes are for our consumption, not yours. Buck, Doe, Bambi: you have no business here. If only those suckers could read.

This spring the deer have been out in full effect. I even caught a pair parading through my neighbor’s backyard in broad daylight. They ARE that bold. There are neighbors who have various tomato plants growing in their front yards. I always look to see if the deer have been grazing (they have been). I have one neighbor that grows their tomatoes right on the side of their garage and they have it deer fenced in. Those tomatoes are growing quite nicely.

Mid-June and early July, the deer came across our standard 4 foot fence to ravage the tomato plants. (I noticed that it sampled the potato plants in the front yard but wasn’t impressed.) It must have taken at least a foot of growth from the plants each time. Each meal we lost flowers, potential tomatoes, which signaled to the plant to put more energy into leaf production. It took almost 3 weeks for new flowers to appear each time.

Deer Accessible Garden

I noticed that my rosemary didn’t have any pests so I did a little research and found that most deer avoid strong smelling herbs like rosemary and russian sage. I quickly put some in the back yard as a deterrent after the first deer visit. This did not work. I looked into deer repellents. There were so many mixed reviews about the effectiveness of the repellents I decided against buying any (they were a little pricey for experimentation). After the second attack on my tomatoes, it dawned on me. It was genius! We put the dog cage over the tomato portion of the garden. We have fenced in green peppers, tomatoes, and cabbage now. Deer proof.

Fenced In

On the deer’s third visit, it found the tomatoes inaccessible. In a display of disgust, it left a parting gift right in front of the entrance to the 6 foot cage. Poop all you want to Bambi, it’s fertilizer!

Author: Waxing Poetica

I am a poet at heart with a cosmiconscious mind. I'm not so good at hiding my insides, and I find it hard not to be honest to being. Creating and recreating, birthing and earthing, these are things I do being supremely born according to the Word.

Leave a Reply

