The Growing Girl

Amateur gardening experiences of a growing girl.

Seeded Watermelon

Leave a comment

I was super-dee-duper excited when I walked through my local Shoppers Food Warehouse produce section and found a large box filled to the brim with…. Wait for it…. SEEDED WATERMELONS!!!!

I did a little dance and could barely contain myself. After I managed to pull myself together I began to dig around for the perfect one. When I thought I found it– those babies were large and in charge– I hoisted it into my cart and carried on with my grocery shopping.

When I finally cut into it my hopes and dreams were dashed upon the rocks of Bad Watermelon Beach. It was going bad. The flesh was a bit on the slick and slimy side. It was a beautiful, bright red and the seeds were big and black. It was nasty. I was so sad.

I have decided that I will not give up my search for a seeded watermelon that is as delicious as I remember from my childhood. That is my goal. I will keep you posted.

Author: Waxing Poetica

I am a poet at heart with a cosmiconscious mind. I'm not so good at hiding my insides, and I find it hard not to be honest to being. Creating and recreating, birthing and earthing, these are things I do being supremely born according to the Word.

Leave a Reply

