The Growing Girl

Amateur gardening experiences of a growing girl.

Groundhogs

Leave a comment

Did you know that groundhogs climb trees? I sure didn’t. But Friday I saw a chubby little groundhog hanging out in a tree nearby my garden.

I had assumed that it was deer or rabbits that were nibbling on my squash, cucumbers, Brussels sprouts, and watermelon; but it seems the groundhog is now a suspect.

To combat whichever hungry little critter is making the best out of my home grown goodness, I rigged some bird netting (which is a bit more light weight than deer netting, and cheaper too) between the fenced in portion of the garden and the far side of the delectable treats. So far so good.

Remember to keep an eye or six on the pests that would prefer they eat your fruits and veggies instead of you.

20120715-164748.jpg

Author: Waxing Poetica

I am a poet at heart with a cosmiconscious mind. I'm not so good at hiding my insides, and I find it hard not to be honest to being. Creating and recreating, birthing and earthing, these are things I do being supremely born according to the Word.

Leave a Reply

