The Growing Girl

Amateur gardening experiences of a growing girl.

Spring 2012 Is Here

Leave a comment

It’s that time again. Time for allergies to kick into overdrive, reminding us that Spring is here. That it’s time to seek out your seeds and nursery plants. Time to decide, if you haven’t already, what is going to get planted where and get your season planting schedule together.
Just yesterday I was weeding my potato bed. That was easier than I thought it would be partly because i took my allergy medicine with breakfast, and partly because there weren’t that many weeds to pull. In my pulling and tilling I made a surprising discovery: POTATOES! Yep, I found three little potatoes still in the ground. They were perfectly unscathed by Maryland’s extremely mild winter. Maybe tomorrow I can conquer the backyard garden plot.
Another thing I did this week was visit Home Depot to price roto-tiller rentals. I was pleasantly surprised at what I learned. For $37 I plan to rent a medium roto-tiller for 4 hours. The hope is that a deeper tilling and aeration will give us better results than last season.
These are just a few of my preliminary plans, what are yours?

Author: Waxing Poetica

I am a poet at heart with a cosmiconscious mind. I'm not so good at hiding my insides, and I find it hard not to be honest to being. Creating and recreating, birthing and earthing, these are things I do being supremely born according to the Word.

Leave a Reply

