The Growing Girl

Amateur gardening experiences of a growing girl.

What’s Next? Slugs?

Leave a comment

Slugs, really? Who knew that these little buggers are such a pain? Either we have quite a few slugs, or a hefty hefty cinch sack or two in our front garden. The slugs are on the rampage and they MUST die. I know that we all have to eat, but it would be nice if the slugs could leave us with something to harvest. I can share a leaf or two, but let’s not be greedy.

Upon doing some research, I find that hand picking the slugs are seemingly the best weapon. I know that sprinkling salt on them works too. But what I need to know is what do I do about the slugs that I can’t see.

  • Rake your garden in early Spring to get rid of slug eggs and keep your garden free of leaves and other materials that can be used as hiding places for the slugs.
  • Slugs love moisture, so try to keep excess moisture to a minimum (particularly in the evenings when they are most active).
  • Lay out a damp cloth or newspaper in the evening and in the morning check under it for the slugs. Punish them however you see fit.
  • Plant rosemary, nasturtium or fennel to discourage them.
  • Sprinkle the ground with coffee grounds, dry ground chalk, crushed egg shells or sand, as the caffeine is said to be toxic to the slugs and gritty, discouraging them from sliming across.
  • Spray beer on weeds and watch the slugs eat the weeds and not your crops.
Here are a few suggestions that I have unearthed for the annihilation of yet another invasive species to my home garden. Remember, slugs MUST die! Or at the very least leave my garden and return nevermore.
Author: Waxing Poetica

I am a poet at heart with a cosmiconscious mind. I'm not so good at hiding my insides, and I find it hard not to be honest to being. Creating and recreating, birthing and earthing, these are things I do being supremely born according to the Word.

Leave a Reply

