The Growing Girl

Amateur gardening experiences of a growing girl.

Sin City Flora

Leave a comment

I spent my Labor Day holiday weekend in Las Vegas. Hot! Hot! HOT!! When I arrived, at 11 o’clock at night, the pilot said– more like warned us– that it was 92 degrees outside. It felt as if the sun was shining, high noon style. When I stepped outside, I briefly lost my breath. This is no exaggeration. Hot, I tell you.

The next thing I observed was the plant life… palm trees and cacti. I know that Las Vegas is in the middle of the desert but I still expected to see some floral action. There was very little. Surprisingly enough, I still needed to take my allergy medication. I didn’t think I would need it, but I took it just in case because I know that new pollen is a killer to the chronic allergy sufferer (that would be me). That first night, my nose decided that it wanted to secede from the union that is my body. Back to the no flora. The palm trees were lovely to behold. There was a certain majesty in some of them as they lined medians and the Las Vegas strip.

Evergreen varieties, those are the most abundant flora in the Mohave Desert. I was a little disappointed that there weren’t any flowers and things to snap shots of. The one thing I wanted to take a picture of wasn’t accessible to me as we sped past, an armless cactus. I thought that was really a sight to see, so I tried to rustle up a pic… sorry.

 

Author: Waxing Poetica

I am a poet at heart with a cosmiconscious mind. I'm not so good at hiding my insides, and I find it hard not to be honest to being. Creating and recreating, birthing and earthing, these are things I do being supremely born according to the Word.

Leave a Reply

