The Growing Girl

Amateur gardening experiences of a growing girl.

Stunted Carrots

Leave a comment

I’m still on the carrots, yes. Carrots are supposed to be long and slender. Maybe not always long, but definitely more than 2 inches.

Shorts

Here’s today’s lesson: be sure to till your soil deep enough, or make sure that you have amended more dense soils (like our clay-silt) so that the edible root has somewhere to go.

If you look carefully at the carrot on the left, you will see that it appears to have satellite carrots growing off of the main carrot. I’m thinking that the growth was taking the paths of least resistance, resulting in this gnarly looking carrot. This fella was not the only one who had these extra appendages. Don’t get me wrong, we do plan on consuming these strange looking creatures.

These are the carrots I harvested this morning from my late spring planting. Such a disappointment, but the Jiffy Pellets with the carrot seeds I planted last Tuesday are starting to sprout. Hopefully by the end of this week I can put the sprouts in the deep flower pot. Stay tuned to Growing Girl’s carrot channel as the experiment continues.

Author: Waxing Poetica

I am a poet at heart with a cosmiconscious mind. I'm not so good at hiding my insides, and I find it hard not to be honest to being. Creating and recreating, birthing and earthing, these are things I do being supremely born according to the Word.

Leave a Reply

