The Growing Girl

Amateur gardening experiences of a growing girl.

Carrots are My Favorite

Leave a comment

I love Carrots! And in case you didn’t know, they are my favorite root vegetable. Raw, steamed, boiled, whatever you do to it (except for Ranch, blech), a carrot is gospel to me. So I’m sure you could understand my excitement when I realized that the carrots were thriving in the garden. I could see that some of the carrots were maturing, and that some of them were even looking quite orange at the shoulders. One was looking particularly bushy and I thought it would be a good idea to pull it.

Stumpy Carrot

I was too disappointed that this is what I pulled up. A few weeks later I noticed that another carrot had began to make the flower that would bloom the following spring. I couldn’t resist the urge, so I snatched that baby right on up. It looked a lot like this one here, just plumper.

Oh my lands! What is happening to my Danvers Half-Long carrots, I wondered. I know our soil is dense and clay-y, so I blame the stumpy carrots on the ground. I guess I should blame myself and my aunt as well, since we failed to till the soil at least a foot deep.

Next spring I want to rent a roto-tiller and really get down in the clay soil. Maybe then I can get some normal carrots. For the present I plan on trying to do some late carrots in a container (Danvers and Little Fingers). I have yet to plant them because my carrot seeded Jiffy pellets have yet to spring forth. Jiffy pellets and greenhouse, is another post for another day. It is the best!

I will report on the container carrots later.

Author: Waxing Poetica

I am a poet at heart with a cosmiconscious mind. I'm not so good at hiding my insides, and I find it hard not to be honest to being. Creating and recreating, birthing and earthing, these are things I do being supremely born according to the Word.

Leave a Reply

